Have You Heard… Our 2019 Christmas Playlist!!

Hey everyone! As you’ve probably noticed, we’ve been silent on the Playlists the past few weeks as we’ve been approaching the holidays, and I have a very good explanation for that! Christmas falls on a Wednesday this year, and since we post our playlists on Wednesdays, I figured it would be an awesome opportunity to give you all a great soundtrack of Christmas songs to listen to while you’re opening presents or having dinner with family or what have you! So I called up some of our top curators, and everyone got to pick one of their favorite Christmas songs to share with you, and give a little background as to what it means to them this time of year.

I hope you all enjoy our playlist, from my family to yours: Happy Holidays, and a Happy New Year! See you in 2020!

Our 2019 Christmas Playlist

CONNOR’S SONG: “The Christmas Song” by Nat King Cole

There’s something about that opening of strings that immediately reminds me of sitting on the couch with my family while it snows outside after an awesome and eventful Christmas day. It’s a classic, probably one of the most quintessential Christmas songs out there, and Nat King Cole’s voice has always been one of the smoothest around. The inclusion of themes of how Christmas is viewed from a child’s perspective and the excitement around Santa, to the happiness for those of us who are older now that comes with just being around your family during the holiday season is something that has made this such a timeless classic in my own eyes and in the eyes of so many. It also reminds me of my grandfather who I got my love of Christmas from, so for me, this song is a must have on any playlist for the holidays.

JONO’S SONG: “Grown Up Christmas List” by Pentatonix feat. Kelly Clarkson

I absolutely adore this song and really want to spread the word because I think it’s so under appreciated every Christmas season. Grown Up Christmas List reminds me every year about what we all should be wishing for for Christmas, and sounds cheesy but is honestly one of the most touching and moving songs of the holiday season for me. This cover amplifies all of these emotions and is just insanely beautiful. For another amazing cover, be sure to check out Voctave who do a beautiful rendition too! I love love love Christmas and my personal growth around the holiday season came a lot from this song – that I could live without the presents and food as long as the love and joy my family shared at this time could be spread across the world, to every corner, where people are suffering and don’t get to experience Christmas and family as we do. The lyrics are so powerful and it’s a lovely peaceful interlude for your Christmas playlist.

TABI’S SONG: “What Christmas Means To Me” by Stevie Wonder

This song has become my favorite because it is high energy, fun, and festive without being gimmicky, not to mention it is written and performed by an absolute legend. It’s one of those songs you know your whole life, therefore capturing all the wonder and nostalgia of your past Christmases like a time capsule. When I hear this song now, I can’t help but reminisce on feelings of  innocence, warmth, and wonder. Even when I was young, the Santa Claus, commercial kind of Christmas joy never set well with me. It seemed artificial and sickeningly sweet. I instead loved being with my family, going caroling, and doing things that felt more true. This song was a gateway to that holly jolliness others felt when hearing Jingle Bells or Santa Claus is Comin to Town, because there is something uniquely spiritual about the happiness demonstrated by Stevie’s Christmas hit.

MATT’S SONG: “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen” by Gordon Goodwin

I really enjoy Gordon Goodwin’s take on “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen” every since I was introduced to it in high school. I am not usually into big band jazz, but for some reason this version hits different. I love the way he uses the main melodic theme to take you to all sorts of different places, but also ends up coming back to that melody, often transitioning sections with a really cool repeating rhythm section motif. I love when Christmas comes around cause I can aux this without feeling guilty about it, unlike when I listen to it in mid-summer and feel weird about it haha. Overall, I think it is really nice to listen to and a really creative take on a classic Christmas tune.

EMMA’S SONG: “Man With The Bag” by Jessie J

This song was made popular by Kay Starr, but I love Jessie J and think her version is incredible. I first heard this song my freshman year of high school when my school jazz band performed it. I am not huge on Christmas songs, I think most of them are annoying, but this song never fails to get me hype. It’s seriously the only Christmas song I look forward to hearing. It’s such a fun song, and who would hate a Christmas jazz song?! The melody is super catchy, and the big band behind the vocals make this song sound huge. This is a song that anyone can get stuck in their head during the Christmas season! In all honesty I deadass listen to this song in the middle of the summer once I remember it, and every time I tell someone about it, no one knows what I’m talking about! Definitely give this song a listen, whether it be the Jessie J version or the original!

BRENNA’S SONG: “Santa Baby” by Madonna

Santa Baby is easily my favorite Christmas song. Most songs about Santa are from a child’s perspective, portraying him as this magical, pure being that gives gifts to deserving children. I love the contrasting idea of Santa Baby, shifting the perspective into something more adult, looking at Santa now as this quasi-romantic interest. The nature of the song is very sexy, as clearly exemplified by Eartha Kitt’s original sensuous vocals. I’ve always had gripes with the tempo, though — a melody as flirtatious as this deserves something bouncier, and Madonna delivers. I think her rendition is pure genius. I cannot imagine anyone else singing this song as perfectly as she does. While this song is very adult, the lyrical content is materialistic and jokingly entitled, giving the song an immature feel. Madonna was able to give this quality to her voice that is both cute and sexy, and it could not fit the song better. She speaks the playfully indignant lines and sings the rest with this bright and nasally but still raspy tone. Coupled with the heavy focus she places on her fricative consonants, she is able to flawlessly portray the story of this song in the coy, yet alluring way the lyrics demand. I could list a dozen more pseudo-deep reasons why I adore this song, but at the surface it’s simply because I, too, desire several expensive and shiny gifts.

KIANA’S SONG: “Christmas in L.A.” by Vulfpeck

I’ve never witnessed a warm Christmas, but this song makes me want to see what it’s like! It also makes me wanna dance, like a lot. Vulfpeck always brings the funk, and that rings true with this song too. This is one of the catchiest songs out there and I absolutely listen to it year-round. The lyrics put a stereotypical Californian spin on the traditional idea of Santa Claus and Christmas. For example, instead of a sleigh, they talk about him driving a Chevrolet. It’s a super cute and clever song with an amazing hook and incredible bass line (Joe Dart isn’t human), and I strongly strongly recommend you check this one out.

MIKE’S SONG: “Dominick the Donkey” by Lou Monte

Yes, I am one who normally finds pleasure in the absurd and outrageous. Listing this as my favorite Christmas song would be fairly on-brand from that fact alone. However, I genuinely have a fond memory of my Pop-Pop singing this goofy holiday jingle. He waved his hands like a conductor and had a smile on his face as Lou Monte sang this lovingly off-beat Christmas song.

ALEX’S SONG: “Christmas in Harlem” by Kanye West, CyHi the Prynce & Teyana Taylor

Ok, I don’t really like Christmas music, but here’s an exception.  From the GOOD Fridays era comes another great Ye track. Smooth vocals and production make for a nice song for the season without being aggressively Christmas-y.  The song includes both lovely lyrics about the joys of wintertime as well as some tongue-in-cheek entendre that you really should’ve come to expect from a Kanye song by now.  I don’t know, man, it’s just simple and fun. And it’s actually quite the refreshing change-of-pace from most classic Xmas tunes. What’s not to like?

KRISTIN’S SONG: “Sleigh Ride” by TLC

The holiday season just wouldn’t be complete for me without this song! “Sleigh Ride” is guaranteed to bring cheerful and celebratory energy to any and every Christmas playlist. It always reminds me of my family’s annual Christmas Eve party and how much fun it was dancing with everyone when I was little. This song truly embodies everything there is to love about 90s Christmas R&B between T-Boz’ raspy rap-singing, Chilli’s smooth ad-libs and Left Eye’s innovative rhymes. The lyrics offer a playful, hip-hop influenced spin on the Christmas classic of the same name by The Ronettes. Left Eye and T-Boz’ individual verses also bring a rhythmically experimental feel as the girl group sings all about the childlike fun in taking a sleigh ride with the person you’re crushing on. If you’re in need of something new to get your Christmas party started, this underrated classic is the one!

PENNY’S SONG: “Santa’s Coming For Us” by Sia

I’m not huge on Christmas music so when this time of year comes around I typically get worn out on Christmas music very quickly.  I really only listen to Christmas music the week before Christmas. I think this song is super fun, upbeat and also kinda weird. When she says “Santa’s Coming for Us” I kinda picture Santa being in a horror movie and it’s comical to me. I think this is why I enjoy this song, also Sia is great. I tend to like most of her music so when I discovered her Christmas music I was very excited. It brings a modern twist on Christmas when you want to mix up the music you listen to.

JACKIE’S SONG: “What Christmas Means to Me” by Stevie Wonder

For me this song encapsulates the feeling of Christmas. I’m not the biggest Christmas Music fan, but whenever this song plays I am INSTANTLY in the holiday spirit! There is something about that intro that really ignites a fire and expresses the cheer and laughter in the air. 

The lyrics, although somewhat just listing off things we all do around Christmas time, are so timeless and memorable that you can’t help but relate and feel excited. It makes me feel like a kid. The song also features a sweet tasty key change at the end that suits the build into the ending perfectly. It’s also by Stevie Wonder, you can’t beat that!

I hope that when you listen to this song it brings you joy and sparks a smile. Happy Holidays!

Check out our playlist exclusively on Spotify! Save it to your library so you can listen to it for your Christmas Day celebrations:


A massive thank you to all of our curators for helping make a really special playlist for this special time of year! I loved being able to collaborate with them on something special like this and I hope you guys enjoyed hearing a diverse mix of songs for the holidays! We’ll be back in 2020 with some new exciting playlists for you! Till then…

CONNOR

Leave a comment